July 09, 2020, 04:44:18 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: flag       flag       goodmorning       flag       flag

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Del.icio.us Digg FURL FaceBook Stumble Upon Reddit SlashDot Ask Co.mments Feed Me Links Google Bookmarks MSN Live Netscape Socializer Squidoo Technorati Yahoo My Web

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Clicker training...  (Read 1210 times)
Angel-Dancer
Dog Addict!

My baby boy Tucker

« on: October 11, 2011, 06:39:27 PM »

I am just learning about it, but I am finding it fascinating.  The dog learns they are doing right by treat and click and the part I really like is the dog finds the training fun.  From what I have learned thus far, the dog is treated with a click as soon as they even remotely do what you are asking them to do.  The click is followed by a treat.  With Kyrarara she has learned to sit both with hand signal and verbal, she is learning down and now she is learning to stay in a down or sit for up to 30 seconds, but we have not built up to that yet. 
For her target training, where she learns to touch with her nose or paw on command, as soon as her nose touches her target, even if it is a quick touch she is rewarded with a click and a treat.  As she gets the idea she does more touches with just a click or a YES, and less treats. 
She is also learning to smell a certain target and respond to it by our choice her paw.  This will teach her to alert.  Right now we are rubbing food on her target for the scent and rewarding every little sniff or paw she gives to it.  Click as soon as she does it and a treat to follow.
I am sure others on the forum are pretty familiar with it.  I am just learning, but I like how the dog responds to it and learns the behavior so quickly. woof
minniesmom
Administrator

*The Enabler*

« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2013, 06:46:56 PM »

We just started this with Suzie. So far she is responding very good!